Annual Conference on Teaching Keynote Speakers

Linda M. Woolf

STP President

Tentative Keynote Title: 

Teaching to Make a Difference: A Social Justice Approach


Linda M. Woolf, PhD is Professor of Psychology and International Human Rights at Webster University, where she teaches a range of courses from Statistics and History, Philosophy, and Systems of Psychology to specialty courses concerning the Holocaust, genocide, peace and political psychology, human rights, and ethics. Recent publications and presentations focus on teaching, social justice, hate groups, torture, LGBTQ+ and women’s rights, and the psychosocial roots of mass violence. She is co-author with Michael R. Hulsizer of A Guide to Teaching Statistics: Innovations and Best Practices. Woolf currently serves on the American Psychological Association (APA) Committee on International Relations in Psychology, APA Ethics Code Revision Task Force, and is the 2022 President of the Society for the Teaching of Psychology. She also serves on the Institute for the Study of Genocide Board and the Rafael Lemkin Book Award Committee.

 Rajiv Jhangiani

Tentative Keynote Title: 

Critical, Inclusive, and Open Pedagogies: Centering Social Justice in the Teaching of Psychology


Dr. Rajiv Jhangiani is the Associate Vice President, Teaching and Learning at Kwantlen Polytechnic University in British Columbia. The architect of Canada’s first zero textbook cost degree programs, Rajiv’s scholarship focuses on open educational practices, student-centered pedagogies, and ethical approaches to educational technology. Dr. Jhangiani is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Robert E. Knox Master Teacher Award from the Department of Psychology at the University of British Columbia, the Award for Excellence in Open Education from BCcampus, and the Emerging Leader Award from Open Education Global. A co-author of three open textbooks in Psychology, his books include Open: The Philosophy and Practices that are Revolutionizing Education and Science  (2017) and Open at the Margins: Critical Perspectives on Open Education (2020). Together with Dr. Robin DeRosahe is a co-founder of the Open Pedagogy Notebook. You can find him online @thatpsychprof or

Kelley Haynes-Mendez

Tentative Keynote Title:

On Being and Teaching “Diversity”: Reflections on Culturally Diverse Teachers of Psychology


Dr. Kelley Haynes-Mendez is Director of the Ethnicity, Race, and Cultural Affairs portfolio and Acting Director of the Human Rights Team at the American Psychological Association (APA). In this role, she provides supportive leadership to key stakeholder groups at APA, including the Committee on Ethnic Minority Affairs, the Commission on Ethnic Minority Recruitment, Retention, and Training in Psychology and the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion office.

Dr. Kelley Haynes-Mendez has more than 20 years of academic and clinical experience specializing in ethnicity, culture, race, diversity, intersectionality, and global issues. She received a doctorate in clinical psychology from the California School of Professional Psychology and is a licensed psychologist in the state of Texas. Her therapy practice was primarily oriented toward culturally affirming psychotherapy with individuals and families of color. Her scholarship and academic interests have included topics of multiculturalism, intersectionality, and teaching for global citizenship in higher education. As associate professor at The Chicago School of Professional Psychology, she served as chair of the Diversity Advisory Board, Faculty Fellow for the Center for Multicultural and Diversity Studies and was a member of the President’s Diversity Advisory Council.

Dr. Haynes-Mendez was previously Vice President for Diversity and International Relations at the Society for the Teaching of Psychology (APA, Division 2) where she received a presidential citation for her “forward and innovative” work. Dr. Haynes-Mendez has also collaborated with the United Nations mandated University for Peace, to foster professional development and global citizenship for higher education faculty, staff, and administrators.

ACT 2021 Keynote Speakers
(Viji Sathy, Susan Nolan, Jordan Troisi)
ACT 2020 Keynote Speakers
(Jane Halonen, Carol A. Hurney, Amy Fineburg)

ACT 2019 Keynote Speakers
(Pooja Agarwal, Lindsay Masland, & Rick Miller)

ACT 2018 Keynote Speakers
(David Myers, Sue Franz, & Mitch Handelsman)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software