Society for the Teaching of Psychology

Division 2 of the American Psychological Association

Excellence in Teaching Awards

2014 Winners

The STP Teaching Awards Committee congratulates the recipients of the 2014 Teaching Excellence Awards and thanks all nominees, nominators, and reviewers for their participation in the awards process.

  • Wayne Weiten Teaching Excellence Award (2-year college): J. Kris Leppien Christensen, Ph.D., Saddleback College
  • Mary Margaret Moffett Memorial Teaching Excellence Award (high school): Amanda Vanderbur, M.Ed., Zionsville Community High School
  • Wilbert J. McKeachie Teaching Excellence Award (graduate student): Angela Legg, M.S., University of California, Riverside
  • Jane S. Halonen Teaching Excellence Award (early career):  Sadie Leder Elder, Ph.D. High Point University
  • Adjunct Faculty Teaching Excellence Award: Thanos Patelis, Ph.D., Fordham University

Call for Nominations for the 2015 Awards

The Society for the Teaching of Psychology (Division 2 of the American Psychological Association) announces its 2015 program of awards for outstanding teachers of psychology.  Teaching awards of $1500 and a plaque will be bestowed for outstanding performance in each of six categories: 4-year college or university (Robert S. Daniel Teaching Excellence Award), 2-year college (Wayne Weiten Teaching Excellence Award), high school (Mary Margaret Moffett Memorial Teaching Excellence Award), first 7 years of full-time teaching at any level (Jane S. Halonen Teaching Excellence Award), graduate student (Wilbert J. McKeachie Teaching Excellence Award), and the Adjunct Faculty Teaching Excellence Award.

The deadline for submissions is January 11, 2015.

Amy C. Fineburg, Chair of the STP Teaching Excellence Committee (e-mail:, ph: 205-682-5390).

Nomination Criteria

You may download the nomination criteria and instructions that are specific to each of the awards in PDF format:

List of Past Award Winners: 1980-present

Fund for Excellence

The awards are made possible from donations to The Fund for Excellence in the Teaching of Psychology. The Fund's assets are derived entirely from donations from generous individuals and organizations that seek to promote and recognize excellence in the teaching of psychology. Contributions are encouraged and may be sent to:

Elizabeth Swenson
Department of Psychology
John Carroll University
University Heights, Ohio 44118
(216) 397-4434

Gifts are tax-deductible to the extent allowable by law.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software