Society for the Teaching of Psychology
Division 2 of the American Psychological Association

Get Involved in STP!

If you’re an STP member interested in becoming more involved in STP activities then you’ve come to the right place. STP is committed to providing opportunities to as many of its members as possible to participate in STP initiatives. Whenever there’s a committee, taskforce, or working group vacancy, this will be one of the places where the vacancy is announced. In the meantime, here’s a partial list of executive committee members and their areas of responsibilities. If you click on each name, you’ll be directed to that person’s email address. Even if there is no current vacancy, you should feel free to contact one or more of these individuals to express your interest in serving on a specific committee. If you’re a nonmember visitor to this site and are interested in getting involved with STP, then by all means return to the homepage and submit your membership application online. We welcome anyone interested in the teaching of psychology. STP encourages nominations from colleagues who are from underrepresented groups and have diverse backgrounds and experiences.

Current Service Opportunities


STP is seeking an individual to serve a term as Associate Chair of the Teaching Excellence Awards Committee for the Society for the Teaching of Psychology. The Associate Chair supports the Chair of the Teaching Excellence Awards Committee in the implementation of the Teaching Excellence Awards program, including implementing the Society’s annual awards program, soliciting, receiving, and responding to applications, organizing review panels for each of the six awards categories, contacting applicants after a decision has been reached, writing the recipients’ biographies for the October issue of ToP, and presenting the awards at STP’s Annual Conference of Teaching.

After the term as Associate Chair, the Associate Chair may be recommended to serve as the Chair of the Teaching Excellence Awards Committee for an additional three-year term.

The Associate Chair term will begin in June 2018 and will end in December 2020.

Questions about the position can be directed to:


Krisztina Jakobsen, Chair of STP Teaching Excellence Awards (

Amy Fineburg, Vice President for Recognitions and Awards (

To apply, please send a brief letter stating your interest and experience related to the position and a current CV. The applications are due by March 23, 2018 and should be sent to

STP Twitter Coordinator Position

STP’s Membership Communication Committee (MCC) is looking for a coordinator for STP’s Twitter account. The coordinator will post regularly, be available to post messages and respond to replies and messages on Twitter, and help provide information about and increase interest in STP. They will also assist with STP’s International Twitter Poster Conference with increased amounts of posting and interactions during the conference. The coordinator will work with the chair of MCC, assisting the MCC chair with choosing new Twitter monitors when needed, responding to requests for Tweets, and providing statistics on the @TeachPsych Twitter account. The Twitter coordinator position will be for a term of 3 years (2018-2020).

If you would like to apply for the Twitter Coordinator position, please send a cv and cover letter with the subject line “MCC: Twitter Coordinator” to the chair of MCC, Anna Ropp at Applications should include your Twitter username and relevant social media experience, if applicable. The deadline for applications for the coordinator position is March 23, 2018.

E-Books Editors

The Society for the Teaching of Psychology E-Books ( editorial board is comprised of one editor-in-chief and six associate editors. STP is soliciting two new associate editors who will serve for 2-year terms beginning this year.  Associate editors are assigned two tasks:  develop and/or edit one e-books that advance the causes of the Society, and review proposals.. If interested, please submit a current CV and a cover letter explaining your interest in this position and your relevant qualifications to Tara Kuther ( by March 31, 2018

Diversity Committee

The STP Diversity Committee is searching for new members. The mission of the committee is "to oversee and assess all Society activities related to diversity issues, including but not limited to, diversity in membership, integration of diversity into the curriculum, hiring and retaining a diverse faculty, and attracting members of diverse groups to psychology as a major and a profession." The Committee's objective includes "building community among and supporting diversity-oriented scholars and teachers, perhaps beginning with conference discussions/presentations." The entire group convenes via phone conference twice during the fall and spring semesters; additional meetings are held when necessary. Subcommittees meet as needed to complete set tasks. STP encourages applications from colleagues who are from underrepresented groups and have diverse backgrounds and experiences. Applications will be accepted until 3/15/18. If you are interested please send your vita and a statement of interest to Dr. Kathy Keefe-Cooperman at

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software