STP Award for Promoting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Society for The Teaching of Psychology (STP; APA Division 2) is pleased to announce the STP Award for Promoting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion to recognize instructors who promote and prioritize these values in their teaching and mentoring.

This award recognizes “diversity” as inclusive of perspectives and experiences that are not traditionally highlighted in psychology curricula, in a reflection of broader societal power structures. These perspectives and experiences may derive from minoritized identities that include, but are not limited to: sexual orientation, gender identity, (dis)ability status, social class, race/ethnicity, religion, and immigration status. The goal of this award is to recognize instructors of psychology who promote social justice, broadly construed, through their teaching via a variety of educational and academic activities. These activities may include:

  • An overall teaching approach and/or specific teaching practices that amplify diverse perspectives and foster an equitable learning environment.
  • Community-based educational initiatives that promote diversity, equity, and inclusion outside of the classroom.
  • Conference presentations and/or invited/public talks focused on diversity, equity, and inclusion in the teaching of psychology.
  • Mentorship that is responsive to the needs of minoritized students, trainees, and colleagues.
  • Publications (whether academic or popular) focused on inclusive and equitable pedagogy.

A member of STP’s Diversity Committee will serve as a voting member of the award committee. The chairs of the two committees (the Diversity Committee and the Award committee) will coordinate this.

Awards are only for STP members. Recipients will receive $1,500, a plaque, and up to $1,500 to attend STP’s Annual Conference on Teaching, if they do not have travel funds from other sources.

Priority will be given to individuals who have not received this award in the past. Applicants not receiving the award may apply again in future years. STP reserves the right not to make an award if the STP Awards Committee believes no applicant is qualified in a particular year.

The inaugural call for applications is scheduled to be announced in fall 2020 and the first award recipient will be honored at the 2021 Annual Conference on Teaching.  Instructions for applications will appear on this page.

Policies regarding STP grant programs can be found here.  

If you have any questions about this award, please contact Leslie Berntsen, Inaugural Promoting DEI Award Chair, at

Promoting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award Selection Committee

  • Leslie Berntsen (Chair), University of Southern California
  • Arlen Garcia, Miami Dade College
  • Dina Gohar, University of Michigan
  • Jacqueline Goldman, Delta State University
  • Amy Nusbaum, Heritage University

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software